Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Question about the Cobo deal

I know this has been talked about for the longest but I have a question. First, here a link to a story about the Cobo deal and a hearing that Brenda Jones called for.

http://www.clickondetroit.com/news/19928205/detail.html

During the meeting a resident was quoted as saying: “It is absolutely lousy. It is of no benefit to the residents of the city of Detroit.”

So here is the question. As a city resident or a non-resident who pay Detroit taxes, how has Cobo benefitted you in the past?

As a resident of Detroit, I don't ever recall getting a check for all the business that Cobo was able to generate each year. For any event that was held at Cobo, I don't recall getting in free though I am a Detroit resident. If I wanted to host an event, would I get the hometown discount?

Where do these headcases come from? The city is broke and they are still trying to derail a deal that will rehab Cobo. Where are the logical people out there? It seems like only the nuts keep showing up.

The nuts are just more vocal, not the majority.

Anyone notice how Joann Watson reacts to the people who
    are for the Cobo Hall deal. Very transparent. I just don't
    get why people are against a deal that will improve and maintain the "jewel". I haven't been to Cobo in at least 15
    years and probably only about 4 times in the years I've been
    a resident. I wonder how many events all of these people have
    attended that they are so vocal or are they coerced into coming to the City Council meetings by council members?