Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Default Orr had ZERO plans to deal with the various lawsuits against the city.

That's pretty interesting. Especially for a city with as many harrassment and negligent incidents as Detroit.

I'm not a lawyer but I once again fail to see the superior intelligence or even competence of Kevyn Orr. Or the highpriced lawyers and consultants he seems to be so fond of.

And speaking of people connected to Orr putting their foot in their mouth...

Probably because, during normal bankruptcy proceedings, all lawsuits are put on hold. You deal with them after the bankruptcy, and the presiding judge might throw some of them out. The bankruptcy judge ordering the city to figure out the lawsuit situation *before* the bankruptcy has gone through is unusual.

I think what that appointee said was thoughtless - but I can imagine the scenario. He's being "instructed" on the special Detroit protocol that administrators must follow: travel slowly around Detroit streets in a car with a flasher all night to be, basically, neighborhood watch volunteers. As this dawns on a guy he starts to see that things could get dicey for someone with no law enforcement training if, maybe, a situation goes bad. So, I guess, he made a barbed observation and the lady dragged it into her complaint about being demoted. I see a commenter on Deadline Detroit [[who sounds like an insider) said that she deserved demotion because "The city’s income tax system was labeled “catastrophic” in an Internal Revenue Service audit last year. To help fix this, Orr identified more than $83 million worth of improvements to IT systems over the next 10 years. Cheryl did NOTHING."