Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Wow, now that is public

I'm not a newbie to the world of computers [[first one Tandy 1000), then DOS, and Novell or forums [[remember Prodigy and CompuServe?)........but sure got a surprise related to a question i posted here the other day. I posted a new thread, subject was something like "how to find online creditors list from Detroit Bankrupcty.

The next day while still trying to get that answer, i goggled it, and got two hits. Both of them took me directly to my question posted here. No answers, but it seems google picked up my question as posted here and now anyone else asking the question gets the link back here to my unanswered question. How embarrassing.

I wasn't sure if i should have laughed or cried at that one, but it did serve as a reminder about just how public a public forum is or can be.

Lily

I've noticed that when I've tried to find out more about a subject posted here. Dyes is often in the first couple of hits

This is what search engines do and have always done.

In previous iterations of DetroitYES! you could frequently find a user named something like "GoogleSpider." I haven't noticed it in this version but I haven't monitored much either. I think it appeared under something like Quick Links > Who Is Online at the top of the page.

I thought it was pretty cool to be able to actually see the spider when it was doing its job.

Quote Originally Posted by Jimaz View Post
    I thought it was pretty cool to be able to actually see the spider when it was doing its job.
    In VERY old versions of Google, you could aim the search engine at your site, and watch it as it indexed the pages, from the Google end. I think you need to sign up for their premium analytics package for that now, I can't find where to do it for free.

Quote Originally Posted by noise View Post
    This is what search engines do and have always done.