Hi all,

My name is Nate and I'm a graduate student in geography at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. I'm doing some research in Detroit for my masters thesis.

Basically, my primary interest is about how images and representations come to influence policy decisions in cities. I'm particularly interested in historic preservation, largely because of the ways that decisions over preservation and demolition are so tied into economic development and the ways that cities are imagined. I think that preservation is an interesting concept because its a way of making history real or tangible, which raises a lot of interesting questions about what histories are being preserved and how sites that are semi-traumatic can be reused and reinterpreted. The Michigan Central Station [[as well as the Lafayette in some respects) is an interesting example of that, because its a structure that, to many, seems to bear witness to many of the problems that have plagued post-War Detroit. At the same time, it also gestures towards the future and serves as a possible way forward for the city. I'm especially interested in the images of Detroit that are so common [[ie. of blight, decay, etc.) and how they're resisted by preservationists, activists, city officials, and ordinary residents. Or, on the flipside of that, how images made by Detroit residents are used to encourage economic development, tourism, etc. Ultimately, it all comes back to politics and economics and its interesting how preservation gets entangled in present day problems and conflicts.