Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default In Search of Neon Signs in Detroit

I am an avid student of the neon sign form and am hoping for some advice on where to locate the best of Detroit's neon signs...also love ghost signs as well...

Yelp says its closed, and I haven't been in a while, but there used to be a little neighborhood dive bar down the street from the Telway out Michigan called Stempien's. They have/had great window signs and a ridiculous great big pink-red arc of neon over the bar. But the real gem was off to the side, over maybe the bathroom doors -- a piece of 15mm clear red that just said 'WINE.' A really ancient piece of glass, bent by somebody who knew what they were doing -- every bend was fluid and smooth and round in all the right ways.

Detroit's been hard on its neon, between vandals and glass block windows and everything else.

If you [[or anyone else) would like the dime tour of a small neon shop / how a neon tube is made, give me a call and we'll set up an appointment -- 313 831 9060.

As gvidas says, Detroit really has very little neon left now. I remember when I was a kid looking up Eastlawn at the glow of the fabulous neon sign that once adorned the Jolly Dutchman bar. I sure wish I had a picture of that! Or that great "Limp In, Leap Out" sign that you could see flashing on the spring shop across Michigan Ave. from the ramp to the upper deck at Tiger Stadium.

The law in Michigan recently changed to allow neon beer signs. We missed out on a lot of cool old school neon beer signs like you see in other cities.

Serious surprised that my husband has't posted. He loves ghost signs. Maybe I'll jolt him and he can give you a list.

Go to flickr.com and search :detroit "neon sign" or detroit "ghost sign"

i'm a neon nut. hooked when i was a kid. touched a few pieces of hot glass as a kid, ouch!

greektown used to have the standard neon signs. not sure how many are left now.