Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 4 5 6 11 ... LastLast

Default Duggan Ends Candidacy for Mayor - Will NOT Appeal To Supreme Court

The right decision was made.

Hmmm. I'm not an election lawyer [[although I am a lawyer) and this decision seems contrary to the intent of the residency requirement in my opinion. Basically if Duggan had sat on his signatures for 14 days and THEN turned them in, then according to this ruling, his candidacy would be perfectly valid. But since he was proactive and turned them in two weeks earlier, he's off the ballot. I cannot think of a single policy reason that would support such an interpretation of the residency requirement. His "filing for office" could be [[and should be) regarded as continuing up to the date of the deadline for filing, and that deadline didn't occur until after he hit the 1-year residency mark and after he turned in his paperwork. This ruling should be overturned.

Quote Originally Posted by corktownyuppie View Post
    This is where I would normally remark, "Oh, Snap."

http://www.freep.com/article/2013061...t-mayoral-race
    I find that highly appropriate in this case lol.

Quote Originally Posted by corktownyuppie View Post
    This is where I would normally remark, "Oh, Snap."

http://www.freep.com/article/2013061...t-mayoral-race
    Duggan's reply is "Oh Zip"

[[forehead slap)

My response? "Oh, Detroit..."

Two words: told ya! The judge deemed the language "plain and unambiguous." Duggan said every election lawyer he has talked to [[paid) says the opposite.

Too bad he didn't have one of those geniuses read the language before he filed because any responsible lawyer- minimally acquainted with the rules of statutory construction and the English language - would have told him to avoid filing prior to April 14. Eliminate this as an issue.