Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Default Before & After: Detroit Neighborhoods

Hello all!

I am currently in the midst of a research project at Michigan State University. It analyzes the downsizing of Detroit and how mass transit can help.

For the report, I am looking to include before and after photos of each of the 3 neighborhoods I am studying. These three neighborhoods are West Village, University District, and the area east of Eastern Market and north of Gratiot.

I figured this would be a good place to ask for this and also for other to post before and after photos from other areas of the city.

Thanks! Let's discuss

I did something similar. I took old photos of Detroit and then went to the same exact spot, took a modern photo, made it black and white and carefully photoshopped the two exactly over one another so\ the comparison perspective was 100% identical. Part of the challenge was asking permission for some views that were from rooftops.

A great start would be whatwasthere.com...which doesn't quite cover Eastern Market, but it's a great resource for before and afters for the other areas as well as Wayne State's digital archives.

Thanks Wolverine. Also, does anyone know a website that would have old satellite images [[1950, 1960, etc)?

Quote Originally Posted by rbdetsport View Post
    Thanks Wolverine. Also, does anyone know a website that would have old satellite images [[1950, 1960, etc)?
    The pix go back to the late 1940s and continue through 1997.

being on a Mac I can never get the links to work, but there is a workaround, ... I have just forgotten what it is.

http://www.clas.wayne.edu/photos/ap_index.htm

I'm actually trying to find that. There was one I used that provided free historic satellite views every so many years. I'll report back when I find it.

http://historicaerials.com