Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Default Diego María de la Concepción Juan Nepomuceno Estanislao de la Rivera y Barrientos Etc

Well, Diego Rivera, for short.

I was always fascinated by the industrial paintings of Diego in the Detroit Institute of Arts. While I'm not an artistic person by any means, they impress me.

Diego Rivera was an ardent Mexican Communist, as most of you know. I suppose his paintings in the DIA reflect his thoughts of slavery upon mankind by the upper class. While I loathe his politics, I am grateful for his art.

Anyway, it bothers me somewhat that I can greatly admire a mans work, yet loathe him at the same time [[being slightly to the right of Dick Cheney). How can this be????

Comments?? [[Bear in mind this is somewhat tongue-in-cheek.)

I feel exactly the same way about Rivera. While his politics were indeed loathsome there's no disputing his artistic genius. Detroit Industry is probably my favorite painted work.

You made my day Ray!

I think that we can go back to the lives of important folks like Thomas Jefferson and appreciate their contributions while understanding their shortcomings relative to the era they lived in etc...

Dick Cheney on the other hand is less savory because his timeline is contemporary and too close for my comfort.

But yeah, Rivera! Great artist and passionate man of his time. Cant wait for Lowell to chime in...

Why is it be necessary to loathe someone simply because they hold a different view of politics? The man's art is simply beautiful.

ah, another art illiterate. the industry murals depict the nobility of the working man, not their enslavement

Quote Originally Posted by stanman13 View Post
    Why is it be necessary to loathe someone simply because they hold a different view of politics? The man's art is simply beautiful.
    Well, Stan, as I said in my post, it bothers me. I'm looking for someone to explain that to me!