Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Alfred Tobocman designed home – who is this guy?

OK – since I have zero knowledge about significant architecture, I need some help from the architectural types on this board. I’ve been looking at houses online and I stumbled upon a house designed by someone named Alfred Tobocman. Does anyone know of other homes designed by Tobocman? The listing implies that he is well known -- I’ve never even heard of the guy, but I dig this house in Farmington Hills. This home reminds me of the Mies van der Rohe style condos/coops in Lafayette Park. I couldn’t find anything on the web about the designer, so any insight would be much appreciated. By the way, the greenish carpet in the family room needs to go – lay some hardwood and be done with it.

Name:  l93e3d643-m1x.jpg
Views: 4124
Size:  26.0 KBName:  l93e3d643-m4x.jpg
Views: 3803
Size:  9.4 KBName:  l93e3d643-m5x.jpg
Views: 3499
Size:  11.3 KBName:  l93e3d643-m7x.jpg
Views: 3466
Size:  10.5 KB

From the listing:

“Don't miss out on a rare opportunity to own an early Alfred Tobocman designed home nestled in this wooded setting. Enjoy the clean simple lines & understated beauty of this 20th century architect. Everything about this home speaks to the flora and fauna that surrounds it. From the wide & welcoming front porch to the walk out lower level & multi-tiered decks you'll feel like you are "up north" while right here at home.”

http://www.realtor.com/realestateand...4_M41842-25632
    Last edited by AGinthe313; February-07-13 at 01:50 PM.

Looks like Tobocman was located in Farmington Hills and might have been partnered with his brother Irving. A UofM Grad. A link to his 1970 AIA questionaire.

http://communities.aia.org/sites/hdo...ker_1970_T.pdf