Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Tech Issue - Java Security Flaw

Have any of you disabled Java on your computer? I heard about the problem on a radio broadcast and found this article.

http://www.zdnet.com/apple-oracle-mo...aw-7000009755/

I never downloaded the latest update - the irritating reminder is blinking every time my computer starts up. When I began to install it, it said I may have to disable cookies and I don't recall any other updates from them requiring I do that, so I was leery of doing it.

I'm not exactly computer savvy, so could some of you experts comment? Thanks!

I am not an expert, but I have uninstalled Java from my computer and disabled the Firefox plug-in [[on two computers, XP & W7). I have read that Mozilla [[Firefox) is developing its own plug-in to perform the same function.

Norton has occasionally notified me that something has tried to attack my computer, and very time it was through Java. I took it off a few weeks ago and have noticed no change in performance or full web site access.

Some important computer programs require Java to run, so what is the solution to that?

Oracle put out the updated, patched Java today. Have at it
    http://java.com/en/download/index.jsp

Thanks, jcole!

Thanks everyone!

So does this mean I should delete the entire program and install this or is this download just a patch for the original program? Clueless here!

Quote Originally Posted by Kelton View Post
    Thanks everyone!

So does this mean I should delete the entire program and install this or is this download just a patch for the original program? Clueless here!
    Just run the install routine; Java will update it.

Quote Originally Posted by Cincinnati_Kid View Post
    Some important computer programs require Java to run, so what is the solution to that?
    What do you run that needs Java? I run a few obscure developer tools, but I have it switched off in my browser.