Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default WSU Faculty Union OKs Possible Strike

http://www.freep.com/article/2012121...text|FRONTPAGE

Wayne State University's faculty has authorized the union leadership to call a strike against the university at any time as negotiations over a new contract drag on."A strike authorization is not a strike," union president Charles Parrish, a political science professor, said Monday. "It's a notification to the other side that things are very serious."

The two sides are scheduled to talk again Friday.

That said, union officials said they would be willing to call for the strike, if needed, although any such call likely would not come until the beginning of the winter semester in January.

University spokesman Matt Lockwood declined to comment Monday on the move.

Oh well, At least I graduated from Wayne State University with a BA of Liberal Arts from the College of Fine Performing Arts in 2010 YAY for me. I'm now have my own film company. Working to this day.

While I think the time is past... I can respect the need for collective representation by trade union for auto workers.

For professors? No. Its a bad idea.

Who would they be striking against?

Why the People of Michigan who elected their Board.

When striking against the peoples representatives one is striking against the people.

How many will side with the strikers against the people?

I hope the people and the folks elected to represent them win this one.

"The talks have been contentious, starting with a proposal from the administration that faculty members said would kill tenure and allow professors to be fired without cause. ."