Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Have you given Detroit and Metro Detroit an ultimatum before you leave?

I'm a professional in my mid 30s. Born and raised in Detroit. I want to stay here but at this point I refuse to deal with the current situation or a situation worse than the current one. I'm not moving to the suburbs because I like big city life. Personally I'm giving the city another 4-5 years. If I see no significant improvement in a positive direction I'm gone. Have you given Metro-Detroit or Detroit an ultimatum?
    Last edited by maverick1; November-23-12 at 10:30 AM.

As you know, I'm feeling about the same way as you. And I'm not just a city person, I'm a big city person.

The deal breaker would be if all of the communities could merge to become "Detroit", which isn't going to happen.

The actions under the CA are just confirming my decision to leave.

Otherwise, Detroit will merely be a place for me to visit occasionally.
    Last edited by 313WX; November-23-12 at 10:40 AM.

In a way I'd leave now if I could do so... but I have family, cultural and a primary employment connection. Thankfully, I don't own property in Detroit so I don't have that issue, so I am weighing my options. The high CRIME and lack of city services is my main reason to want to get out...

I like city and suburban life for varied reasons and engage in both as I've work in many suburbs over the last 25 years. And I go in an out of the city very frequently.

The fact that police were finding body parts in the neighborhood directly behind me, coupled with trying to keep that information from my wife, in addition to the "needing more than two hands" to keep track of all the craziness wasn't enough. This lifelong Detroiter, DPS grad, rec center volunteer was done cheerleading, but content, until.......