Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default More Midtown residential plans underway!

Quote Originally Posted by serpico View Post
    Let us know when the residents send their kids to Detroit Public Schools...
    Schools aren't as big a deal as they used to be, because only about a quarter of households have school-age children. Healthy school districts do, indeed, draw families, without a doubt. I was a teacher for over three decades, and I will ALWAYS support schools in any district. Kids in every district deserve the same high-quality schools that the best districts provide. But, not everyone makes real estate decisions based on schools anymore. [[That's probably one of the big reasons that school funding is in the tank-- 3/4 of the population say to themselves, "My kids are through school, so why should I continue to pay school taxes?")

I doubt you will ever know that answer. The question to ask is how does the city retain them when their children reach school age. I like what has been happening around the popular areas of the city but worry that while most are single or do not have children, once they do they will leave. 100% of those I know who lived in the city at one time or another started looking for homes in districts with good schools around the time their oldest turned 4 and were gone in time to register their child for kindergarten in the burb of their choice. Something needs to be done to retain them.

Quote Originally Posted by Parkguy View Post
    But, not everyone makes real estate decisions based on schools anymore. [[That's probably one of the big reasons that school funding is in the tank-- 3/4 of the population say to themselves, "My kids are through school, so why should I continue to pay school taxes?")
    School funding is in the tank because real etate nd sales tax collection are in the tank.