Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Internet Providers

I'm a new resident of the West Village and am having trouble getting internet set up.

Any suggestions as to what ISP serves the area? I would appreciate any help!

I have AT&T, which is shitty, overpriced, and has terrible customer service. The other choice when I was looking into this was Comcast, whose cheapest package was about four times more expensive per month than AT&T. Basically you can't win, so just pick one and prepare to be ripped off and jerked around.

My mother lived in a co-op near Van Dyke and Jefferson and they had Comcast. You can get the package with TV, internet and phone. I agree about AT&T customer service, mystifyingly bad.

My biggest beef with Comcast is that they dropped support of Usenet Newsgroups years ago.

Newsgroups in the U.S. have now become an obscure [[non-WWW) corner of the internet that [[once conveyed/still conveys) a deep wealth of information for many serious international professionals.

Yet more dumbing down of the USA.

Quote Originally Posted by gazhekwe View Post
    My mother lived in a co-op near Van Dyke and Jefferson and they had Comcast. You can get the package with TV, internet and phone. I agree about AT&T customer service, mystifyingly bad.
    Yeah, I think part of the reason Comcast was such a lousy deal for me is that I just wanted Internet without TV or phone service.

I'm in touch with people from different parts of the world. According to them, U.S. has the crappiest Internet access in the world.