Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Default GE to bring 1200 jobs to metro-Detroit

Earlier I posted on auto suppliers looking to relocate in the metro-Detroit area and how they would probably end up in Oakland County. What do you think Detroit leaders are doing to land this GE Research Center? Is anyone doing anything to land this facility? City Council? Bing? This is exactly the type of research center that Detroit needs. It's knowledge based work in an emerging field that attracts young, educated people while also building upon the strengths we already have with all the laid off engineers and auto workers.

I'm an engineer that has many opportunities out of state and none in Michigan. I would love to stay in Michigan and work for GE. What are they planning to use this facility for and when can we start?

MIRepublic Guest

MotownSpartan,

From what I understand, they've already chosen a location. That they say it's in Wayne County kind of tells me that it's not going to be in Detroit. These choices are usually made far before they get to announcing these things.

bu, bu, but the cold weather sucks and the taxes are high and th the there is no talent left in Michigan.

Quote Originally Posted by MIRepublic View Post
    MotownSpartan,

From what I understand, they've already chosen a location. That they say it's in Wayne County kind of tells me that it's not going to be in Detroit. These choices are usually made far before they get to announcing these things.
    "The operation will be in either Oakland or Wayne county. Given that GE chairman and CEO Jeff Immelt will be speaking at the Townsend Hotel tomorrow for the Detroit Economic Club, it is believed the location will be in Oakland County."

I 'm getting an Oakland county vibe from the article.

Regardless, this is excellent news. But considering all the empty industrial acreage in the city proper, it would make extra sense to have it there.