Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Bussing Between Downtown and Midtown

Does anyone here have experience with the bussing system between Downtown and Midtown? Is it reliable for work purposes and safe? Thanks for any info!

Quote Originally Posted by jpbollma View Post
    Does anyone here have experience with the bussing system between Downtown and Midtown? Is it reliable for work purposes and safe? Thanks for any info!
    There are a number of DDOT buses that run on Cass and Woodward with pretty good headways. It's a pretty short trip, so it isn't too bad...

If you are traveling during peak hours, there are a few SMART buses that run through Downtown and Midtown, although some were cut short during the last service reduction.

When I was a student and I would work downtown I'd do that all the time.

For the most part, transit is pretty safe. I think the media overblows any time an incident does happen. If you are one to keep your nose clean you should have no issues.

Use the #16 Dexter bus or the #53 Woodward bus, both run every 15-20 minutes. The Dexter runs on Cass.

catmap.wayne.edu is a map of all the bus stops in midtown.

Great, thanks guys!

The Hamilton #23 is also very good [[runs right down the middle of WSU - Anthony Wayne Dr. then eventually down Hamilton, and onward down 7 mile to Northland).

It is fairly regular and not as crowded as the Dexter. Also you can get a more direct route heading north to Southfield on the Hamilton.

Here's the DDOT site for schedules and routes...

http://www.detroitmi.gov/Departments...Schedules.aspx

Quote Originally Posted by j to the jeremy View Post
    Use the #16 Dexter bus or the #53 Woodward bus, both run every 15-20 minutes. The Dexter runs on Cass.

catmap.wayne.edu is a map of all the bus stops in midtown.