Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Default Why is Detroit shrinking?

Hello!

I am an architecture student in Innsbruck, Austria. As a part of my degree I am currently doing a study about Detroit, at which I am trying to figure out what were the main factors which contributed to its astonishing [[economic and demographic) growth [[approximately until 1950) and what are the main reasons for its unfortunate shrinking since then.

I was wondering if you could help me with a couple of useful links to researches that were made on this subject. Texts, graphs, pictures - anything would be highly appreciated.

Thank you very much in advance!

-Alexander

I will jump in and offer Thomas Sugrue's "The Origins of the Urban Crisis", which I am sure many folks on this forum will recommend.

And also, Reynolds Farley's "Detroit Divided."

The astonishing growth is pretty easy to explain - the enormously fast growth of the American automotive industry, and ancillary industries. Detroit was the greatest boomtown of the American industrial revolution.

The shrinkage story is more difficult and complicated. The decline of the American auto industry, and the lowering labor intensiveness of auto manufacturing in general, is only one piece of the story.

Default Other reasons

Quote Originally Posted by EastsideAl View Post
    The astonishing growth is pretty easy to explain - the enormously fast growth of the American automotive industry, and ancillary industries. Detroit was the greatest boomtown of the American industrial revolution.

The shrinkage story is more difficult and complicated. The decline of the American auto industry, and the lowering labor intensiveness of auto manufacturing in general, is only one piece of the story.