Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Default Jules Verne first edition book.

I'm in possession of a book that was pegged at $10,000 + on the Antique Roadshow program, but I've also have seen it on line for as little as, [[buy now) $150 on Ebay. Where in the Detroit area can I get a fair price for this book for quick cash ?
    I also have other rare books I'd like to sell.

first editions aren't the same as first printings, but I'm no expert ... talk to John King. He'll give you a fair price for quick money.

For bigger, slower money, and assuming you have truely valuable stuff, try Dumochelle's [[sp) downtown or Frank Boos in Bloomfield.

In this economy, I need the quick cash. If I could get 1/4 of the Roadshow price, I would be happy. This book would be the first American edition.

I also saw a price of $2750 for this book, I'm realistic at least.

Sorry, I just don't know that much about books - except that bit about the differeence between first editions and first printings.

I have a copy of an obsure book on bartending written by the guy who invented the cocktail back in 1850 something ... I got it at an estate sale along with a bunch of other books. I do all the research and find out the bartending book is exceedingly rare and highly sought after by collectors. $50 grand range. I start planning my trip to Tahiti.

Come to find out the difference between first editions and first printings. The book I own is indeed a first edition and it's worth about 50 bucks retail; I revised my vacation plans changing them to an evening at Inskster's famed Tiki Village and ShowBar.

I planned my retirement around that Tahiti thread. Damn. Oh well , I know that the prices on Antique Roadshow are hyper inflated. Real world.

IMHO, I would ask John King to take a look at it, but would never sell to him. He'll pay you $50, then try to sell it for $10,000. Talk about hyper-inflated prices!