Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Wayne State football

Anyone here ever been to a Tartars* game? I enjoy going to different sports venues [[11 Major League parks, 12 minor league parks) just for the hell of it. I've been to all the Detroit teams stadia with the exception of Pistons at Cobo, Lions at Tiger Stadium and Wings at Olympia. Anyway, are tickets reasonably priced? Does anyone tailgate and if so, where? What is the atmosphere like?

check that, tix are $7 apparently

*Yes I know they're the Warriors but I prefer the old non-generic nickname

Theyre not the Tartars anymore ? WTF were they afraid of offending the Mongol Hoard lobby? We really have a problem with Mongolians? Shit what could they be mad about? They don't get a kickback from those mongolian BBQ places?

It made me mad when EMU dropped the Hurons and became Eagles. Why not the emus?

I'm a WSU grad who never attended a WSU football game until a few years ago when my nephew played on the team. I watched maybe a dozen games over the 3 years he was on the team and it was a great experience. Crowds were usually rather small but enthusiastic, and the atmosphere was what you might expect at any college game, only on a much smaller scale. Marching bands, cheerleaders, tailgaters, hot dogs, WSU athletic gear for sale, etc. The only [[minor) hassle was the limited parking.

I really enjoyed hanging out down there and I would encourage any football fan to check out the Warriors. The admission price is right and its a great way to spend a Saturday afternoon.

Actually WSU competes in one of the best Division II conferences in the country. A game between WSU and Grand Valley would be an attractive draw and a wonderful way to spend a Saturday. Lets just say I would rather see that matchup than a run of the mill MAC game.