Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Cass tech name change???

Has anyone heard anything about a councilperson proposing changing the name of Cass Tech?
    Since I am a graduate, I have been getting emails from all over from people asking me about this.
    I don't think this is a possibility, but want to go on record as being totally, unequivocally opposed to this.

I mentioned it a few weeks ago when they voted to rename Washington blvd after John Conyers.

http://www.detroityes.com/mb/showthr...ington+conyers

The media picked up on it last thursday.

http://www.detnews.com/article/20090...al-High-School

http://news.google.com/news/url?sa=t...%2Fdetail.html

I don't like Lewis Cass, either. The Indian Removal Act swept most of the Indians out of the lower tier of Michigan, including the Detroit area. A treaty established lands for existing odenak in 1817, and by 1833, they reverted to settlement as the residents were sent to Kansas. I guess the grass quit growing and the water stopped flowing in just 16 years. Some lifetime treaty. Cass was the enforcer, not the initiator or enactor of the Act, though he assuredly approved of it.

At the same time, I don't associate Cass Tech with Lewis Cass, just the same as I don't associate my alma mater, Wayne State, with General "Mad Anthony" Wayne, who "rid the area of the red menace" by achieving the Treaty of Greenville after some bloody fighting with Tecumseh, et al. I did manage to get rid of that wording on a marker rock in the middle of the campus when I was a green freshman.

Retroit Guest