Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Thread: The New Guy

Default The New Guy

Greetings everyone,

I am a longtime "lurker," first time poster. I usually read posts and find myself encouraged or informed by the comments shared on the boards. Sometimes comments evoke laughter and other times I raise an eyebrow or shake my head. Either way everyone's contribution is compelling in some manner.

I am a lifelong resident of the city of Detroit, DPS and Wayne State educated, who has no plans of leaving. Detroit is one of the most unique cities in the world and I'm proud to be a tax-paying, voting member of its community.

I did a search to find a introduction thread, but didn't find it. So forgive me if I've created an unnecessary discussion. I felt it would be appropriate for me to say, "hello" before I jump into conversations.

Hello and welcome aboard.

ditto the above.

Quote Originally Posted by DetroitMike View Post
    So forgive me if I've created an unnecessary discussion.
    Worry not. As a longtime lurker, you'll know we can find a way to transition any topic of conversation to the questionable sustainability of suburban sprawl or the underappreciation of Detroit's charms in the national dialogue.

I felt it would be appropriate for me to say, "hello" before I jump into conversations.
    See, good for you. I keep saying you Detroiters are a polite bunch. Me, I just uncorked a couple of years of bottled up frustration about the untapped potential of Detroit in the form of an unprovoked diatribe on the reasonableness of car sharing.

There's a Detroit Mike I've been meaning to bump into on here, as it seemed like his type of site...check your PM for a long shot.
    Last edited by fryar; July-07-11 at 10:10 AM.

DM, welcome, nice introduction. You will fit right in.

Hello, new guy!

Welcome aboard!

Welcome, DetroitMike!

Welcome.