Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Downtown Detroit Skillman Library Closing??

Does anyone have any info on this? I walked to drop off a book yesterday and noticed the sign on the door. I couldn't find any info on the Detroit Public Library website. I spoke to Malik Goodwin at the Detroit Economic Growth Corporation and he knew nothing about it.

How can this be reversed? Am I reading the sign wrong? Please tell me it's just closed ON the 9th.

ps. I'm new to DetroitYES!

Name:  skillman 1.jpg
Views: 1397
Size:  32.7 KBName:  skillman 2.jpg
Views: 1373
Size:  31.4 KB

Is there a private endowment to keep this branch open completely unrelated to funding from DPL or the city at large? Perhaps the sign merely means that that branch will be closed on the day of July 9, 2011. Let's hope!
    Last edited by BrushStart; July-06-11 at 09:13 PM. Reason: Misstatement of fact

Yes, let's hope!

This is honestly infuriating. It's time to stage a coup at the library.

That's really sad. I've only been in a few times, but thought it was awesome. My kid used to go there every week while he was in Kidspace downtown. He really enjoyed going there & was always excited for the summer reading program.

I know! I recently moved to downtown Detroit and have enjoyed walking to this library over the past month. With the renovations at The David Whitney Building and the Broderick Tower, more downtown dwellers are going to expect a library. It's a city. The main library is spectacular in its own right, but I LOVE being able to walk when it's nice and hop the people mover when it's raining. It's been packed every time I visit.
    A boarded up library isn't going to look so slick next to the Compuware building.