Belanger Park River Rouge
NFL DRAFT THONGS DOWNTOWN DETROIT »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Fabulous Ruins - Your semantic interpretation?

When you think "The Fabulous Ruins of Detroit".... are you thinking:

a) Detroit is a Fabulous Ruin
    b) Metro Detroit is a Fabulous Ruin
    c) Detroit has some Fabulous Ruins, like Italy
    d) It is fabulous that Detroit is ruined

I always though it was C, but I am beginning to think that many people were interested in or thought it meant one of the other options.
    Last edited by Lowell; May-21-09 at 08:10 AM.

Retroit Guest

C. But more technically, that Detroit had some fabulous buildings that have fallen into ruin.

c... when I was a guest student at Wayne [[long long time ago) I always rode around the old brown stones and was amazed... then after I moved south and saw the sprawl of Dallas, Houston, Austin, San Antonio etc... and other areas I would drive around to find similar areas where there were "ruins" and it was so sad that our city planners abandoned the inner cities and it's buildings and old neighborhoods...some preserved them well and some didn't... so now when I go to Washington and walk the streets of Georgetown etc.. I could only imagine a little foresight would have gone a long way...could you imagine a vibrant and diverse community in Detroit stretching from Trumbull/near old Central or west to east to Grand Blvd... up gratiot ....the homes in detroit were well built in th ecity proper and would be worth a fortune elsewhhere...funny what fear and prejudice gets yah...many of the neighborhoods still has pride and hope..they just need infrastructure and people [[ i know, I know; that's what we have been moaning about for years on here)..but good thread and yes retroit past tense..only if we continue to let it go...man that show "after people" is interesting isn't it.

DetroitDad Guest

c... but a and b aren't that far off... unfortunately.

Stosh Guest